About the Post

Author Information

Elizabeth is a Social Media and Creative Director at The Hudsucker. The Vancouver-based storyteller lives to explore and write about music, film, literature, fashion, art, travel, and culture. She is an old soul who's young at heart, a human jukebox, and a corgi lady in training. Follow Elizabeth on Twitter at @ElizabethThe.

The Most Anticipated Book Releases of Fall 2018

Now that we’ve comfortably settled into the fall season, it’s time to get cozy and settle into a good book! From gripping mysteries to heartwarming essay collections, this autumn’s latest reads from popular authors and newly published writers alike aim to offer everything and anything your bookish heart desires.

Here’s a roundup of the new and upcoming book releases that you’ll be rushing to add to your “to be read” list.

nikita gill fierce fairytalesNikita Gill, ‘Fierce Fairytales’

In her latest collection of poetry, prose, and hand-drawn illustrations, Nikita Gill reimagines classic fairy tales as modern day feminist stories for a new generation of women. She retells the traditional story book tales that we grew up with, challenging the old-fashioned morals they deliver and re-writing the gendered stereotypes of women depicted damsels in distress and evil witches by magically transforming them into complex and compelling heroines of their own narratives. From Snow White to Little Red Riding Hood, there are no passive princesses or naive little girls here, but empowered protagonists who don’t need a Prince Charming or knight in shining armor, as they can rescue themselves… and they lived fiercely independent ever after.

Release Date: Sept. 6

amanda lovelace to make monsters out of girlsAmanda Lovelace, ‘To Make Monsters Out Of Girls’

Following “the princess saves herself in this one” and “the witch doesn’t burn in this one,” poet Amanda Lovelace explores the memories that haunt after the bitter end of a toxic relationship. With raw emotion and vulnerability, she explores how one goes about repairing the heart after devastating heartbreak. Writing from her personal experience, Lovelace speaks of growing past an unhealthy relationship, freeing yourself from the burden of pain and moving on towards finding yourself again. The healing that comes from the hurting can be a transformative experience, with self-love becoming a beacon of hope at the end of the tunnel.

Release Date: Sept. 18

robert galbraith lethal whiteRobert Galbraith, ‘Lethal White’

Robert Galbraith, known as the pseudonym of J.K. Rowling, is back on the crime fiction scene with the fourth novel of the page-turning Cormoran Strike mystery series. Following the events of Career of Evil, the private investigator must deal with the fame that came from the outcome of that mission. He attempts to carry on with detective business as usual when when a young man seeks Strike’s help in investigating a crime he had witnessed as a child. In this curious new case, Strike is taken on a journey throughout London’s backroads, a countryside manor, and the British Parliament. In the midst of it all, the PI struggles over how to handle his complicated relationship with his assistant-turned-agency partner Robin Ellacott.

Release Date: Sept. 18

reese witherspoon whisky in a teacupReese Witherspoon, ‘Whiskey in a Teacup’

Actress, producer, and champion of female storytelling Reese Witherspoon can now add ‘published author’ to her vast list of accomplishments. In this Southern Belle’s guide to Southern living, Witherspoon shares the life lessons she learned in her upbringing in the South. Within the beautifully designed book are her tips on home decor, hearty recipes, recommendations for entertaining guests, and wisdom planned down from her family throughout generations.

Release Date: Sept. 18

america ferrera american like meAmerica Ferrera, ‘American Like Me’

The actress of  Superstore, Ugly Betty and The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants fame has gained recognition for her work in political activism, primarily in her efforts to mobilize the vote within the Latino community. Ferrera has compiled an anthology collection of essays on growing up and experiencing life between cultures from multicultural Americans, with a roster of contributors that include Lin-Manuel Miranda, Uzo Aduba, Kal Penn, Kumail Nanjiani, Issa Rae, Michelle Kwan, and Jeremy Lin. With their vignettes, these diverse voices come together to define what it means to be American.

Release Date: Sept. 25

jodi picoult a spark of lightJodi Picoult, ‘A Spark of Light’

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and My Sister’s Keeper comes this novel about the ordinary lives that intersect during a crisis. The story begins on a day like any other day at the Center, a women’s health clinic, when a terrifying hostage situation arises within the building. Told in reverse-chronological order, the narrative follows the different perspectives of the individuals held inside the clinic, from the medical staff to the patients. As an author who dares to explore timely and provocative issues within her works, Picoult’s latest offering will spark conversation about women’s reproductive rights and abortion rights in America within the book club sphere and beyond.

Release Date: Oct. 2

ellie kemper my squirrel daysEllie Kemper, ‘My Squirrel Days’

Fans of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler and Mindy Kaling’s books will not want to skip out on Ellie Kemper’s My Squirrel Days! In her first memoir, the Emmy Award-nominated actress, comedian and star of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, The Office and Bridesmaids reveals bits and pieces of her life thus far, from her upbringing in the Midwestern suburbs to her career beginnings in the big cities in New York and Hollywood (and yes, there are behind-the-scenes stories from her TV and film set experiences). With titles that refer to the various roles she’s taken on, from “Improviser” to “Daughter” and everything in between, her essays showcase the signature quirky, witty, upbeat and charming nature that audiences adore about the undeniably endearing Ellie Kemper.

Release Date: Oct. 4

brene brown dare to lead Brene Brown, ‘Dare to Lead’

After gaining attention from her viral TED talk on the power of vulnerability, Brene Brown has written enlightening works on Daring Greatly, Rising Strong, and Braving the Wilderness. In Dare to Lead, the social scientist applies her theories to the realm of leadership and management, informing readers on how to be a daring leader in the workplace and elsewhere. Brown’s definition of a leader is one who takes responsibility for recognizing the potential in people and ideas, and has the courage to develop that potential by leaning into curiosity and connection. This book is for any individual looking to work on developing their leadership skills for the benefit of their teams.

Release Date: Oct. 9

abbi jacobson i might regret this Abbi Jacobson, ‘I Might Regret This’

Take a rare look into the private life of Abbi Jacobson, the co-creator and co-star of Broad City. After ending a transformative relationship during a time of pivotal life changes, the actress, writer and artist chose to embark on a solo cross-country road trip to Los Angeles. Along the highway, she comes to stunning realizations on life, love, career, and more. From B&B regrets to drawings of must-have snacks when on the road, Jacobson lets people into her re-discovery of herself through vulnerable expressions of her journey via essays and illustrations. Readers will laugh and ponder as they reflect on the personal revelations that Jacobson reveals through her sharp humour and refreshing honesty.

Release Date: Oct. 30

michelle obama becomingMichelle Obama, ‘Becoming’

In this engaging memoir, the all American icon shares the incredibly compelling story of the experiences that shaped her, from her childhood in the South Side of Chicago to her historical role as the first African-American First Lady in the White House. As a wife, a mother and an advocate for the rights of women and girls across the nation and worldwide, the accomplished and genuine Michelle Obama is a role model to many women in the United States. Her tale is full of heart, soul, and wisdom and will surely continue to provide the motivation and hope she has brought to so many. If her sold-out book tour is an indication, Becoming will be becoming a instant bestseller and a classic for years to come.

Release Date: Nov. 13

What new book releases are on your To Be Read list this fall? Let us know in the comments!

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , ,

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Most Anticipated Book Releases of Fall 2018 – Elizabeth Rosalyn - October 1, 2018

    […] Continue reading on The Hudsucker… […]

Leave A Reply [Invalid Emails Will Be Marked As Spam]

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: